My new job

by david

There. In the post title. That’s the fact. The reason I’ve not posted, gone silent on Facebook, and only tweeted the tiniest, most insignificant tweets. I was considering a career change. And last Friday, I made the decision to go ahead with it. Next Friday will be my last day at my current job, and then I will take a 4-day weekend before starting a new job on Wednesday, November 3.

“Didn’t you just get a new job?” Well, yes, sort of. It’s been about 16 months, shorter than any position I’ve left intentionally, and certainly shorter than I planned when I took my current job. And it’s been good: I like my company and my co-workers. My commute is awesome. No complaints about the pay or benefits. The workplace is humane and flexible.  I’d recommend it to almost anybody. In short, it’s exactly what I was looking for.

So why would I leave?

Because I’m going to be paid to eat tacos. I know it doesn’t sound plausible, but it’s long been my dream, and finally, this mad dream has become a reality. Starting November 3rd, I will be eating tacos from 10am until 4:30pm, 5 days a week, with 15 days of vacation each year, as well as free gym membership and a heck of a lot of free Lipitor. Soft tacos, hard tacos, vegetarian, beef, pork, and fish. I’ll be trying a huge array of toppings and salsas, fresh guacamole, lime juice, you get the picture. I’m talking about a lot of tacos. 15 a day, at least, if I’m going to reach the point where I’m fully vested in the 401(k) plan (they’ve got an innovative program where the contributions are tied not to time served, but to tacos consumed, which is really great motivation to stay focused).

When I told Lisa about the opportunity, she was concerned: “If you eat tacos all day, are you going to have room for dinner?” This was a serious concern. Up until then, I’d only wondered about the bathroom facilities on the commuter rail trains, but I hadn’t even thought about how the job would impact my home life. I took her questions into my next interview, and was relieved to learn that they’re very flexible about the hours. I could eat some of the tacos for dinner, if that fit my lifestyle better. They care about getting the work done, not so much about when it gets done.

Oh, man. I can’t believe that taco line spun out to two paragraphs.

The reality is that I am returning to Bedford/St. Martin’s, where I worked for 6 years in the go-go oughts. They took me in at the dawn of the millennium, when I was a freshly laid-off pup, a stray following the dotcom bubble bursting. They taught me how to drink a mint julep, run a review program, and make my way in a company that had an actual functional business model. Since leaving, I’ve remained in close touch with many Bedfordites, and always sort of had the sense that I might be headed back there some day. Lo and behold: I am soon to be their Market Development Manager for New Media. It’s gonna be awesome.

And also, Bedfordites: there will be tacos.

