Bostonians: My new show needs your help

by david

Hey there!

“Dumber Faster” has been accepted for inclusion in the New York International Fringe Festival. It’ll play in NYC August 10th through 26th (exact dates and location in mid-June). I’m excited, and will have a lot to say about it soon. But that’s not what I’m asking for help with.

Those who saw the original run of “There Is No Good News” saw guest performers telling stories of their own, also titled “There Is No Good News.” I want to take that idea a step further. “Dumber Faster” will be a two-act show in Boston. In the first half, I’m going to introduce a guest with a great story. We’re going to talk. They’re going to tell their story or tell it to me through interview. How it happens will depend on the guest, their comfort level with the stage, and what it is they want to talk about.

This is where you come in:

Do you know somebody in the Boston area (or with Boston ties, who might possibly be in town this fall) who consistently blows your mind with their intelligence, humor, and force of personality? Does this person also have a story you wish everybody could hear? Bonus points if that story deals with the internet, breath-taking acts of self-deception, eyewear, surfing, or best of all, brazen overconfidence.

I’m looking for people from all walks of life, not necessarily from the comedy or theater world: the arts, medicine, academia, government, business, technology, and the media. Anybody. I’d thin this list, interview people, get to know them, and with those whose stories are the best fit, collaborate over the course of a month or so to craft their story as one we could tell together through interview, bringing in whatever elements are necessary to make it captivating and complete. My goal is not to push them out of their comfort zone. I want them to have a really fun time telling and talking about one of their favorite stories with an audience there for a thoughtful, funny storytelling show.

Know a person I should be talking with? Let me know. (Mylastname at gmaildotcom. Post a comment. Hit the contact form at mogolovdotcom. Whatever suits ya.)

Thanks. You’re a delight.

