Retiring “Dumber Faster” – But Not Quietly

by david

(I said I had some important posts. This is the first one.)

On March 1st, I’m performing Dumber Faster for what is probably the final time. I say “probably” because, really, who knows. If someone wants to book it and the schedule works, I wouldn’t rule it out. But I’m not pushing to book it again; there’s too much else to do. But I think it’s the best show I’ve ever done, and I didn’t want to just STOP. So we’re doing something special with the last show.

First off, we’re running it at a special time: 10 PM, Friday, March 1st. (GET TICKETS) And this time, I’m not bringing a guest storyteller. I’m bringing TWO, and I’m so happy about who they are: the storytellers are Veronica Ades and Josh Gondelman. You’re going to love both of them. Veronica is an OB/GYN who has done some amazing work with Doctors Without Borders/Médecins Sans Frontières. She’s a talented writer and storyteller and I’m thrilled she could make it to Boston for this show. Josh is quite simply a hilarious stand up comic, and the hands-down nicest guy in comedy. His recent success with Modern Seinfeld is just a tiny bit of what he’s up to, and like Veronica, I’m delighted he could come from New York for this show. Why are they coming? They’re doing it because…

It’s for charity. The show is a benefit for Doctors Without Borders (really, buy a ticket). I first had the idea in the days after Superstorm Sandy, when I was clearing fallen branches in my backyard and thinking about how lucky I was to only be clearing branches. I wanted to do something for an organization that could really help in a way that I can’t, and before I was inside, I had the idea of booking this show as a fundraiser. And that’s where I got lucky in having a great partner in it…

When I pitched the idea to Zach Ward and Mike Descoteaux at ImprovBoston, they jumped on it. They aren’t just giving me a primetime weekend spot for a benefit show: they’re canceling the show in the neighboring space to give me perfect quiet for my show. They’re doing this because…

We’re recording it professionally, and want clear audio. Clyde Media has generously agreed to capture the show on video for us. They’re doing this because…

I’m going to make it available as a $5 download (you guessed it, for charity). When it’s available, you’ll be able to go online, give $5 (or more!) to Doctors Without Borders, and then download Dumber Faster.

I’m not making a penny off this. I’m super excited, though, to send the show off in a way that does some real good.

I hope you’ll buy a ticket. I hope you’ll download the show.

 

 

